Archives – 2014


Here are all the 2014 award winners:

Club Awards
Club Person – Jonathan Crook
Outstanding Club Member – Peter Challis
Personality – Ronan Costello
Sportsmanship – Ana Paterson
Veteran Player – Paul Richardson
Senior Leading Goal Scorer – Sarah Coppard
Goalkeeper of the Year – Matt Aberhart

Swifts 1st Team
Player of the Year – Bjorn Vossen
Players’ Player – Dwayne Signal
Most Consistent all-round Player – Gary Dobson
Most Improved – William Judson
Leading Goal Scorer – Bjorn Vossen & Scott Parsonage

Swifts Reserves
Player of the Year – Jamie Cox
Players’ Player – Matt Aberhart
Most Improved – Chris Bedford (Team mate of the Year)
Leading Goal Scorer – Jamie Cox

Swifts Ladies
Player of the Year – Chloe Verstraten
Players’ Player – Ana Paterson
Most Improved – Lavinia Laaiva
Best Trainer – Jess Skellern
Top Goal Scorer – Sarah Coppard

Swifts Under 17
Player of the Year – Dillon Sankey
Top Goal Scorer – Ignacio Trias
Most Improved Player – Marc Russenberger
Players’ Player – Lawrence Clothier
Most Promising Player – Radge Avergonzado

Golden Boot (top 12 goal scorers)
20 – S Coppard (Ladies)
17 – J Cox (Res)
15 – R Costello (Res)
13 – A Verstraten (Ladies)
8 – G Raynel (Ladies)
7 – K Morrison (Ladies)
6 – K Smitstra (Ladies)
5 – L Clothier (1st/U-17)
5 – H Maddren (Ladies)
5 – S Parsonage (1st)
5 – I Trias (1st/U-17)
5 – B Vossen (1st)



Feb 22 v Tauranga (a). 1-4 loss (goal scorer: Ben Watson). [Federation Pre-season Cup]. Photos
March 1 v Ngongotaha (h). 0-0 draw. [Federation Pre-season Cup]. Photos
March 8 v Cambridge (h). 0-2 loss. Photos
March 15 v HRFC Clube (h), 0-0 draw. Photos & article
March 22 v Tauranga (a). 2-4 loss. (goal scorers: Lawrence Clothier, Bjorn Vossen). [Fed Pre-season Cup]. Photos

WaiBOP Federation League Division 1

Federation League Division 1

Tauranga BC FCMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsMelville United
NgongotahaMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsTauranga City
OtumoetaiMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsOld Blues
AFC FuryMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsTaupo
HRFC ClubeMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsWaikato Unicol
Old BluesMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsTauranga BC FC
Melville UnitedMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsNgongotaha
Tauranga CityMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsOtumoetai
Matamata SwiftsAFC Fury
TaupoMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsHRFC Clube
Waikato UnicolMatamata Swifts
Matamata SwiftsCambridge FC
Cambridge FCMatamata Swifts


Final Table

Click here for the WaiBOP Federation League Division 1 table


Chatham Cup

Chatham Cup

Matamata SwiftsRotorua United


Senior Squad

Click here for the 2014 Matamata Swifts 1st team squad




March 22 v Tokoroa (h). 2-2 draw (goal scorers: John Harris, Scott Hudson).
March 29 v Cambridge (a). 5-2 win (goal scorers: Peter McCoskrie 2, Jamie Cox, Juong Hyun, Sam Chase). Photos here.

Waikato Division A

April 5 v Eastern City (a). 5-5 draw (M. Marquez, J. Cox, R. Costello, J. Gifford, S. Hudson)
April 12 v Huntly Thistle (h). 3-0 win (J. Cox 2, J. Harris)
April 26  v Hamilton Wanderers (a). 2-7 loss (R. Costello 2)
May 3 v Claudelands Northerners (a). 2-4 loss (R. Costello, S. Hudson)
May 10 v Melville United (h). 3-1 win (M. Marquez, M. Monteith, R. Costello)
May 17 v Waikato Unicol (a). 6-1 win (R. Costello 2, J. Cox 2, M. Monteith, D. Hyslop)
May 24 v Waikato Unicol C (a). 3-2 win (aet – Waikato Cup) (J. Cox 2, R. Costello)
May 31 v Ngaruawahia United (h). 2-0 win (J. Cox 2)
June 7 v Claudelands Reserves (a). 2-0 win (R. Costello, M. Monteith)
June 21 v Unicol A (h). 1-0 win (Waikato Cup) (J. Cox)
June 28 v  Claudelands Northerners (h). 3-2 win (J. Cox, D. Hyslop, J. Crook)
July 5 v Eastern City (h). 3-0 win (win by default)
July 12 v Hamilton Wanderers A (a). 1-4 loss (Waikato Cup) (R. Costello)
July 19 v Huntly Thistle (a). 6-0 win (J. Cox 3, R. Costello 2, J. Crook)
July 26 v Hamilton Wanderers (h). 5-1 win (S. Hudson, R. Costello 2, S. Richardson, J. Crook)
August 2 v Cambridge FC (a). 2-2 draw (S. Hudson, R. Costello)
August 9 v Melville United (a). 4-0 win (J. Gifford 2, J. Cox 2)
August 16 v Waikato Unicol (h). 3-0 win (win by default)
August 23 v Cambridge FC (h). 1-2 loss (M. Monteith)
August 30 v Ngaruawahia United (a). 1-2 loss (?)
September 6 v Claudelands  Reserves (h). 2-2 draw (D. Hyslop, J. Cox).

Click here for the Waikato Division A table




March 16 v Cambridge (a). 0-2 loss.
March 30 v Melville Utd (a). 0-6 loss.

Waikato Ladies Division C

April 6 v Mangakino United (h). 3-0 win (A. Verstraten, S. Coppard 2)
April 13 v Eastern Suburbs  (h). 5-0 win (S. Coppard 3, K. Morrison, G. Raynel)
April 27 v Waikato Unicol (h). 8-1 win (S. Coppard 2, K. Smitstra 2, T. Saw, M. Norris, F. Weaver, A. Verstraten)
May 4 v Morrinsville (h). 11-0 win (S. Coppard 3, A. Verstraten 3, K. Smitstra 3, K. Morrison 2)
May 11 v Te Awamutu (a). 2-2 draw (K. Morrison 2)
May 18 v Cambridge (h). 2-1 win (H. Maddren 2)
May 25 v Melville United (a). 2-0 win (H. Maddren, R. Stewart)
June 8 v Mangakino United (a). 3-1 win (A. Verstraten 2, M. Norris)
June 22 v Waikato Unicol (a). 3-1 win (S. Coppard, A. Verstraten, K. Smitstra)
June 29 v Morrinsville (a). 15-0 win (S. Coppard 5, G. Raynel 5, A. Verstraten 3, R. Stewart, S. Rickard)
July 6 v Te Awamutu (h). 2-1 win (S. Coppard, A. Verstraten)
July 20 v Melville United (h). 1-0 win (A. Verstraten)
Not Played v Eastern Suburbs (a). 3-0 win (win by default)
July 27 v Unicol B (h). 0-4 loss (Waikato Cup)
August 3 v Mangakino (h). 3-0 win (win by default) (Waikato Plate)
September 7 v Unicol C (h). 2-1 win (G. Raynel, S. Coppard) (Waikato Plate semi-final)
September 14 v Cambridge (a). 6-0 win (S. Coppard, K. Morrison, G. Raynel, F. Weaver, H. Maddren)
September 21 v Morrinsville B (n). 2-4 loss (K. Cox, S. Coppard) (Waikato Plate final)

Click here for the Waikato Ladies Division C table



WaiBOP Federation U-17 League

May 11 v Geyser Football (a). 1-4 loss (L. Raynel)
May 18 v Hamilton Wanderers Blue (h). 0-5 loss
May 25 v Whakatane Town (a). 2-1 win (C. Loft, OG)
June 8 v Tauranga City (h). 1-6 loss (I. Trias)
June 15 v Hamilton Wanderers White (a). 4-1 win (I. Trias 2, L. Clothier, A. Mukaka)
June 22 v Melville United (h). 3-3 draw (L. Raynel, I. Trias, OG)
June 29 BYE
July 6 v Geyser Football (h). 2-4 loss (V. Kumar 2)
July 27 v Whakatane Town (h). 1-0 win (J. Wise)
August 3 v Tauranga City (a) – postponed
August 10 v Hamilton Wanderers White (h). 3-0 win (win by default)
August 17 v Melville United (a). 1-4 loss (??)
August 24 BYE
August 31 v Hamilton Wanderers Blue (a). 0-3 loss



2014 U-19 Youth Championships (Napier)

Satellite Group E

Oct 25 (09.00) v Waiuku. 1-0 win (S. Taiapa).
Oct 25 (12.00) v Napier City Rovers B. 1-1 draw (C. Barr).
Oct 25 (15.00) v Waterside-Karori. 0-2 loss.
Oct 26 (08.30) v Albany United. 0-2 loss.
Oct 26 (11.30) v Kapiti Coast. 0-2 loss.

Final table

Kapiti Coast…………….4-0-1-19-04-12
Napier City Rovers B…2-1-2-09-12-07
Matamata Swifts………1-1-3-02-07-04
Albany United………….1-0-4-04-13-03