We’ve set up a Swifts History site to maintain all our, er, historical stuff. You can go to matamataswiftshistory.com to find out more.


Matamata Swifts AFC was established in 1930 and football has been played in our community at different levels and with varying success every year since.

Records from the early days are sketchy, at best. We’re doing our best to dig out as much information as possible so we can recognise those who came before us as we forge a new future for the club and the sport of football in this town.



Season 2019 – click here.
Season 2018
click here.
Season 2017
click here.
Season 2016
click here.
Season 2015
click here.
Season 2014click here.
Season 2013 and priorclick here for a season by season index covering the 2003 to 2013 seasons.



Matamata AFC spent sixteen seasons in the lower divisions of the Northern League before settling back into the Waikato competition at the start of the 1999 season. After eleven years in the wilderness, the club re-entered the new Northern Region Federation League in 2010 following our 2009 Waikato Bay of Plenty Federation League title season. We lasted three seasons this time.

This section is a statisticians dream and it couldn’t have been possible without the assistance of Mike McCulloch, John Tarry and, most importantly, Barry Smith. Click the links below for more.

Results Summary
Full Appearance Details
Full Goal Scoring Details
Season by Season Details



Matamata AFC was established in 1930, meaning the club celebrated its 75th Jubilee in 2005.

Click here to find out everything that happened on the big weekend!