Captain, Bjorn Vossen, struck a goal in each half to secure Comag Matamata Swifts a bruising 2-0 victory over Ngaruawahia United at the Domain on Saturday.

The visitors, among the favourites for the 2020 WaiBOP Premiership title, were looking to rebound from defeat last time out, but were stunned as early as the 4th minute when Vossen gave the locals the lead.

A poor Domain playing surface forced both sides to modify their usual playing styles, leading to an open, competitive and niggly encounter, but one with few genuine chances.

The Swifts back four, marshalled superbly by Campbell Higgens, were secure most of the time and desperate when they needed to be, while Anton Ganas, Reuben Wigelsworth, and Vossen in midfield threatened going forward and shut down their opposite numbers throughout.

The visitors were reduced to ten men with more than twenty minutes remaining. When Ganas was tripped in the Ngaruawahia box with just over ten minutes left, Vossen was charged with securing the points from the spot. Ex-Swifts keeper, Patrick Steele, guessed correctly but Vossen’s shot was powerful enough to ruffle the back of the net and give the Swifts an important three points.

Special mention should go to stand-in Swifts keeper, Michael Candy. He hadn’t touched a football since 2019, and then as a centre-half, but was thrust in nets as cover for the suspended Kyle van Waveren and kept a deserved clean sheet.


Date Time League Season
July 4, 2020 2:45 pm WaiBOP Premiership 2020


Matamata Domain
7 Huia Street, Matamata 3400, New Zealand


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsOutcome
Matamata Swifts112Win
Ngaruawahia United000Loss

Matamata Swifts

# Player Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards
1Mike CandyGoalkeeper0000
3Adam HarrisDefender0000
4Jamie BaxterDefender0000
6Reuben WigelsworthMidfielder0000
8Chris LeeMidfielder0000
10Anton Ganas 23Midfielder0000
11Alex Mukuka 12Midfielder0000
15Blair GriffithsDefender0000
16Pete Shannon 18Forward0000
20Bjorn VossenMidfielder2000
21Campbell HigginsDefender0000
12Mike Smith 11Midfielder0000
2Gary DobsonDefender0000
9Troy RosserMidfielder0000
18Sam Hills 16Forward0000
23Karam Singh 10Midfielder0000
 Total 2000

Ngaruawahia United

Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards