An at times listless performance from Comag Matamata Swifts has seen the side slump to a 4-3 defeat at Tauranga Boys’ for their third Loaded WaiBOP Premiership loss in a row.

The fans who had travelled could be forgiven for wondering what was going on as Matamata gave up three poor goals inside the first 15 minutes. Despite being well below par for the remainder of the half Matamata fashioned a number of good openings and had their aim been true should have been at least level at the break.

It didn’t take long after the restart, however, for the Swifts to grab three goals back. Jamie Baxter, from the penalty spot, Glen Carmichael and top scorer Chris Walker scored the goals that had Matamata back on level terms in next to no time. The Swifts continued to press but could find the goal that would have broken their hosts, with the Tauranga keeper pulling off several fines saves to go with his excellent first half work.

With the game in the balance outside influences started to take effect and it was the hosts, who had looked threatening on the counter all afternoon, who broke through with the winner. Matamata had the ball in the net almost immediately but the goal was inexplicably ruled out.

So another frustrating afternoon for a Matamata side that has been inconsistent of late in what is turning out to be a competitive league, apart from the top and bottom sides.


Date Time League Season
June 17, 2017 2:45 pm WaiBOP Premiership 2017


Southey Field
452 Devonport Road, Tauranga South, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsOutcome
Tauranga BC FC314Win
Matamata Swifts033Loss

Tauranga BC FC

Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards

Matamata Swifts

# Player Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards
1Patrick SteeleGoalkeeper0000
4Jamie BaxterMidfielder1000
5Michael DawsonDefender0000
6Reuben Wigelsworth 10Midfielder0000
7Brad WestMidfielder0000
8Scott ParsonageMidfielder0000
9Chris WalkerForward1000
13Glen CarmichaelMidfielder1000
15Dwayne SignelDefender0000
18Shaun Richardson 22Defender0000
20Bjorn Vossen 17Defender0000
10Dayne Willemsen 6Forward0000
17Seif Benmansoor 20Midfielder0000
22Mike Candy 18Defender0000
 Total 3000