Comag Matamata Swifts were held to a 0-0 draw by visiting Te Awamutu, one of the club’s traditional rivals, while Waharoa Transport Swifts Reserves again gave an opposing team a large head start before settling into their work.

On the face of it a goalless draw wouldn’t have much to recommend it, but in slippery, tricky conditions this match had a lot to like. The Swifts had the more numerous chances from open play and set pieces, while the visitors failed from the penalty spot twice, once at the end of each half.

Radge Avergonzado had a good early chance for Matamata before each side hit the upright in quick succession. Moments after the visitors went close, Hayden Turlington cut inside and drilled a shot against the woodwork.

Te Awamutu’s best chance to take the lead came when they were awarded a penalty just before the break but the resulting kick was sent over the road rather than into the net at the Eastern end of the Domain.

The chances continued in the second half. Matamata went close three time from corners, while Turlington and Avergonzado were both denied by good saves. Te Awamutu screwed a great chance wide and were then given a late opportunity to win it when they were awarded a second penalty. Unlike the first decision, this one was less clear cut, but Seamus Casey in goal went the right way to secure his and Matamata’s clean sheet.

While ending without a goal both teams will have left the Domain feeling they should have won comfortably while also being aware they could have lost comfortably. The Swifts are doing it relatively tough at the moment with a spate of unneeded injuries continuing to hit the squad so a point from this match isn’t the end of the world. But three would have been better.


Date Time League Season
June 1, 2019 2:45 pm WaiBOP Premiership 2019


Matamata Domain
7 Huia Street, Matamata 3400, New Zealand


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsOutcome
Matamata Swifts000Draw
Te Awamutu AFC000Draw

Matamata Swifts

# Player Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards
1Seamus CaseyGoalkeeper0000
2Radge Avergonzado 21Midfielder0000
3Chris Monteith 26Defender0000
4Jamie BaxterMidfielder0000
6Reuben WigelsworthMidfielder0000
7Brad WestMidfielder0000
9Chris Walker 5Forward0000
13Dwayne SignelDefender0000
15Brayden LissingtonMidfielder0000
19Hayden TurlingtonForward0000
20Bjorn VossenDefender0000
5Kody Nowell 9Forward0000
21Anton Ganas 2Midfielder0000
26Blair Griffiths 3Defender0000
 Total 0000

Te Awamutu AFC

Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards