Comag Matamata Swifts scored their second successive 4-0 win on Saturday, this time at Te Awamutu, to move into the top half of an incredibly congested Loaded WaiBOP Premiership table.

Captain Dayne Willemsen got the scoring underway inside ten minutes but the first half was a proper arm wrestle. The home side created enough chances to at least be level, if not ahead, at the break but the Swifts’ defensive unit held strong during what proved to be a decisive half of football given what followed in the second half.

Bjorn Vossen doubled Matamata’s lead eight minutes into the second half and from there the team settled and took control. With Te Awamutu forced to chase the game as they looked to take something from it, the Swifts were able to pick their moments and, unlike in some previous games, clinically picked their opponents off.

Jamie Baxter rattled home Matamata’s third with less than 20 minutes to go then Willemsen capped off a fine performance with his second inside the final few minutes.

After a challenging start to the season the Swifts are now getting back near to the sort of form they showed during the second half of 2017. Injuries are still a major issue, with seven regular squad members missing for this one, but this result, Matamata largest win in Te Awamutu since at least the early 1980s, proved the club has decent depth within the playing ranks.

Photo: Lawrence Gullery (Stuff).


Date Time League Season
June 9, 2018 2:45 pm WaiBOP Premiership 2018


Te Awamutu Stadium
226 Armstrong Avenue, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsOutcome
Te Awamutu AFC000Loss
Matamata Swifts134Win

Te Awamutu AFC

Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards

Matamata Swifts

# Player Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards
1Kyle van WaverenGoalkeeper0000
4Jamie BaxterMidfielder1000
5Michael DawsonDefender0000
6Reuben WigelsworthMidfielder0000
7Brad West 22Midfielder0000
10Dayne WillemsenForward2000
12Mike SmithMidfielder0000
13Dwayne Signel 22Defender0000
15Brayden LissingtonMidfielder0000
20Bjorn VossenDefender1000
21Sean Kipping 8Midfielder0000
8Scott Parsonage 21Midfielder0000
22Hardeep Shettra 13Defender0000
22Harry Conner 7Midfielder0000
 Total 4000