All four Matamata Swifts senior teams were on the wrong side of the scoreline on Saturday during a weekend that also included the hospitalisation of Comag Matamata Swifts captain, Dayne Willemsen.

The Swifts headed to Taupo on Saturday confident of a good showing against one of the Loaded WaiBOP Premiership’s top sides, but came away from Crown Park with a 4-0 defeat after a horror second half showing and shorn of captain, Dayne Willemsen.

A bright opening by both sides promised an even, entertaining encounter. Indeed, that’s how the match was playing out until just before the break. Despite the hosts taking the lead on 35 minutes, when Matamata disappointing failed to deal with a relatively simple long ball, the Swifts had been the marginally stronger side. The front three of Willemsen, Kody Nowell and Brad West worked well and were unlucky not to have the Swifts at least level.

But disaster struck a minute before half time when Willemsen, clean through on goal, was recklessly fouled by Taupo’s keeper outside the box and as clearly the last defender. While Willemsen was carried off, taken to hospital and later diagnosed with a broken tibia, the hosts’ keeper was only shown a yellow card and remained on the field.

That double blow had a crippling effect on Matamata’s performance, which came crashing down on the side in the second half. After a good recent run this defeat was a massive disappointment, but it’s only one game in what has to date been the most competitive and even Premiership in memory.


Date Time League Season
June 16, 2018 2:45 pm WaiBOP Premiership 2018


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsOutcome
Matamata Swifts000Loss


Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards

Matamata Swifts

# Player Position Goals Assists Yellow Cards Red Cards
1Matt AberhartGoalkeeper0000
4Jamie BaxterMidfielder0000
5Michael DawsonDefender0000
6Reuben WigelsworthMidfielder0000
7Brad WestMidfielder0000
8Scott ParsonageMidfielder0000
9Kody Nowell 3Forward0000
10Dayne Willemsen 22Forward0000
12Mike SmithMidfielder0000
20Bjorn VossenDefender0000
21Sean Kipping 24Midfielder0000
3Duran Weaver-Smith 9Defender0000
22Hardeep Shettra 10Defender0000
24David Candy 21Midfielder0000
 Total 0000