On Saturday night the Matamata Swifts AFC end of season prize giving was held at the Matamata RSA.

We all enjoyed a terrific meal with friends and team mates. Special guests for the evening Ruth and Steve Mayne (sister and brother-in-law of Dave Mann) were present and that made it an extra special evening.  Our friend Libby was remembered not with a minutes silence for that would not have been his style. Instead we charged our glasses, filled our minds with memories and toasted our missing mate.

At the end of the celebration of trophy winners, with the Club trophies having been presented by Ruth, she and Steve presented the club with the framed Chelsea shirt which had been given to Dave during his illness and which was so special to him.

For a full selection of photos please visit Ashleen Connell Photography.

2016 prize winners

Club Awards
Club Person – John Harris
Outstanding Club Member – Michael Candy
Personality – Chris Bedford
Sportsmanship – Kerrie Cox
Veteran Player – Haryi Cihan
Senior Leading Goal Scorer – Jamie Cox
Goalkeeper of the Year – Jamie Jones

Waikato Stud Matamata Swifts
Player of the Year – Chris Walker
Players’ Player – Dwayne Signal
Most Consistent all-round Player – Bradley West
Most Improved – Shaun Richardson
Leading Goal Scorer – Benjamin Vogt

Richardson Racing Stables Matamata Swifts Reserves
Player of the Year – Michael Judd
Players’ Player – Hardeep Singh
Most Improved – Logan Raynel
Leading Goal Scorer – Logan Raynel

Swifts A Team
Player of the Year – Kyle van Waveren
Players’ Player –  Rob Cox
Team Man – Jordon Morrison
Top Goal Scorer – Jamie Cox

Challenge Matamata Swifts Ladies
Player of the Year – April Donnelly
Players’ Player – April Donnelly
Most Improved – Renee Ward
Best Trainer – Heather Ward
Top Goal Scorer – Annemieke Verstraten

Swifts Under 13s
Player of the Year – Jacob Fouhy
Top Goal Scorer – Sam Hills
Most Improved Player – Jamie Jones
Players’ Player – Tyler Tapper & Don Smitstra
Most Promising U15 Player – Anton Ganas