Matamata Swifts’ junior football prizegiving was held at the Domain on Saturday September 24. After two disrupted seasons, it was great to get everyone together to celebrate the 2022 season.

Alongside all the teams awards – Sportsmanship, Most Improved, Players’ Player and Player of the Year – we presented club awards for Sportsperson, Top Male Player and Top Female Player. Congratulations to Cayden Steward, Jake Dawson and Casey Harris.

We were also delighted to present a club-wide award – Most Outstanding Club Member – at junior prizegiving. Huge congratulations to Laura Fisher and Whitney Wharawhara, who were recognised for their work with Matamata Intermediate School’s AIMS Games futsal teams (which contained a raft of Swifts players).

Thank you to Hayri Cihan, from sponsor Fez Kebab, and local youth footballers Ryley Bruce, Tom Harty and Theo Barlow, who assisted in handing out the awards.


Club Awards

  • Top Male Player: Jake Dawson.
  • Top Female Player: Casey Harris.
  • Sportsperson: Cayden Steward.
  • Most Outstanding Club Member: Laura Fisher & Whitney Wharawhara.


Team Awards


  • Sportsmanship – Edie-Marie Nikora.
  • Most Improved Player – Krishna Sharma.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Rata Young, Mason Coulter, and Noah Wastney.
  • Player of the Year – Gracyn Kiore.


  • Sportsmanship – Jiraiya Chapman.
  • Most Improved Player – Zaylen Johnson.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Ashlee-Stone Henderson.
  • Player of the Year – Mac Moore.


  • Sportsmanship – Peter Aung Tun.
  • Most Improved Player – Vann Nicholl.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Max Holmes.
  • Player of the Year – Kahnye Currie.


  • Sportsmanship – Angus Fraser.
  • Most Improved Player – Caleb Renshaw.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Logan Weymouth & Blake Puklowski.
  • Player of the Year – Thomas Simon.


  • Sportsmanship- Aidan Le Vaillant.
  • Most Improved Player – Arjun Sukhija.
  • Player’s Player of the Year – Sky Gouk.
  • Player of the Year – Felix Ross.


  • Sportsmanship – Jonathan Hill.
  • Most Improved Player – Daniel de Groot.
  • Player’s Player of the Year – Ethan Jobe.
  • Player of the Year – Lochie Horne.


  • Sportsmanship – Dylan Price.
  • Most Improved Player – Porscha Currie.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Leah Steward.
  • Player of the Year – Alexis Handley.


  • Sportsmanship – Lachlan Neal.
  • Most Improved Player – Jackson De Haan.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Korbin Todd.
  • Player of the Year – Liam Ryan.


  • Sportsmanship – Finn Gouk.
  • Most Improved Player – Kaden McLaren.
  • Player’s Player of the Year – David Landar.
  • Player of the Year – Patrick Wightman.


  • Sportsmanship – Faith Hills.
  • Most Improved Player – Nadia Jeffares.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Indie Bolten.
  • Player of the Year – Miya Henderson.


  • Sportsmanship – Camryn Gillgren.
  • Most Improved Player – Bella Davies.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Emma Smitstra.
  • Player of the Year – Holly Henderson.


  • Sportsmanship – Blake Paling.
  • Most Improved Player – Lochie Aspinall.
  • Players’ Player of the Year – Jake Dawson.
  • Player of the Year – Cayden Steward.