The Matamata Domain was the place to be over the weekend as local fans saw 31 goals scored in four games involving Matamata Swifts teams.

Comag Matamata Swifts was the only side to taste defeat after a defensive mistake in the second half handed visitors, Tauranga Blue Rovers, a 3-2 Loaded WaiBOP Premiership victory. Rovers had earlier scored from set pieces at each end of the first half, sandwiching goals from Dayne Willemsen and Reuben Wiglesworth.

After the early set back the Swifts looked to be doing it comfortably, particularly after Wiglesworth nodded his team in front. But a well taken free kick had the visitors level at the break then what turned out to be the winner flipped the game on its’ head. Matamata pushed and pushed as the game wore on but too often the quality of delivery and decision making was lacking when a bit more composure could have seen a different result.

In Saturday’s early game the Swifts reserves were trailing 4-1 at one point but rallied to secure a solid point from a 5-5 draw against Blue Rovers’ reserves. Matamata’s defending was less than ideal during the first half, but goals from Ronan Costello and Ignacio Trias had the team in touch at the break. Costello completed his hat trick to draw the reserves level, before Blue Rovers edged back in front. Max Hill stooped to nod home Matamata’s equaliser in the final minute.

The goals continued to rain in on Sunday as both Challenge Matamata Ladies and the Swifts 3rds secured large victories. Renee Graumans lashed home a second half hat trick for the ladies who trailed by two goals at one point before rallying to win 5-2. Maggie Leaver and Mary Ontiveros also got on the score sheet. The team provided a constant attacking threat throughout and when the first goal finally went in the rest followed in a rush.

Matamata’s 3rd team began their Waikato Sunday League campaign with a 7-2 victory over Tetra Pak Vikings. The match was level a two apiece at the break, before Matamata ran away with it against tiring opponents. In a great team performance, the goals were shared among seven different scorers: Jeremy Pope, Matt Aberhart, Adam Harris, Craig Henry, Rob Cox, Chris Bedford and Alastair Basalaj.