The club’s 2016 Annual General Meeting was held yesterday, with the largest membership turnout in a number of years.

Outgoing President, Julie Clothier, reported on a successful year for the club. Treasurer, Michael Candy, presented accounts showing the club is in a healthy financial position, despite several unexpected outlays during the 2015/16 financial year.

The management committee and, we’re sure, the full membership would like to express our full gratitude to Julie who, after three-and-a-half years at the helm, made the decision to step back from the top job. Julie’s period in charge has coincided with a time of immense challenge for the club, which included ongoing upheaval in the senior coaching ranks and, over the last 15 months, the loss of three club stalwarts.

Julie steps down with the club in a healthy, stable position and a looking forward to a positive 2017 season and beyond.

The management committee would also like to express our thanks to Debbie Sankey, who has stepped down from her role as club secretary.

In what can only be described as a smooth, seamless, transition of power, Malcolm Raynel was voted unopposed into the President’s role. Denise Adamson joins the management committee and will slip into the secretary’s seat vacated by Sankey.

We also welcome Patrice Adamson, Kerrie Cox and Rob Cox onto the management committee. All four ‘newbies’ have a deep association with the club and embody the club’s ‘We are Swifts for Life’ philosophy.

2016/17 Management Committee

  • President: Malcolm Raynel
  • Vice President: Dwayne Barlow
  • Secretary: Denise Adamson
  • Treasurer: Mike Candy
  • Club Captain: Matt Aberhart
  • Junior Co-ordinator/Chair: Ronan Costello
  • General Committee: Patrice Adamson, Peter Challis, Julie Clothier, Kerrie Cox, Rob Cox